SickleInAfrica Consortium

The Sickle In Africa consortium aims to facilitate research in Sickle Cell Disease (SCD) and the subsequent translation of this research into healthcare and health outcomes. Sickle in Africa is made up of three initiatives : Sickle Africa Data Coordinating Center (SADaCC), Sickle Pan-African Research Consortium (SPARCO) and Sickle Cell Pan African Network (SPAN).

SPARCO: Multinational consortium which is coordinated from a hub at the Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Science. SPARCO aims to develop research capacity for SCD through a multidimensional approach which addresses infrastructure, education & training, provision of longitudinal research data and the translation of research into practise.
SADaCC: An administrative, data standardization and coordinating center for Sickle Cell Disease research and infrastructure needs. Its current mandate is to focus on supporting and coordinating data and communications for a partner research network, SPARCO with plans to expand this support to research groups within SPAN in the future.
SPAN: A network of researchers, clinicians, funders and centers working in SCD which aims foster research and infrastructure development.

Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs), Guidelines and Templates

This platform provides Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs), guidelines and policies developed by the Sickle Africa Data Coordinating Center (SADaCC) in collaboration with the Sickle African Pan African Network (SPARCo). SOPs, guidelines and policies help standardize data and procedures at the SPARCo sites in-order to improve data quality and adhere to ethical requirements of the project. A key aspect about this platform is that each member of the SADaCC and SPARCo consortium will be assessed how well they comprehend the SOP, guidelines and policies assigned to their job description before their can commence their duties as well as after every 6 months.

SOPs Booklet & Quizzes

Webinar (Online Event)

Title Date, Time and duration
Sickle Cell Disease Research in Africa: Opportunities and Challenges 06 July 2022
16:00 CAT
1 Hour
SickleInAfrica Webinar Series 2022 Wednesday, 29 June 2022
16:00 CAT
1 hour
American Society of Hematology’s Sickle Cell Disease Efforts in Sub-Saharan Africa 17 February 2022
15:00 SAST
1 hour
Newborn Screening for SCD in Africa: Lessons from Nigeria Monday, 31 January 2022
15:00 SAST
1 hour
National Heart Lung Blood Institute (NHLBI) Annual Sickle Cell Disease (SCD) Research Meeting 2020 - Virtual Conference August 10-12, 2020
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM (EDT)
3 days
SCSSN and NSHBT - Virtual Conference Thursday, June 25th, 2020
4:00 pm - 7:00 pm WAT / 11:00 am EST / 08:00 am PST
3 hours
Gene Editing Workshop Thursday, June 18th, 2020
3-7pm CAT, 4-8pm EAT, 9am-1pm EDT, 8am-12pm CDT, 6-10am PDT, 9pm–1am (SGT)
4 hours
Standards of Care developed by SickleInAfrica 29 April 2020
5PM (Tanzania); 4PM (Cape Town); 2PwM (Ghana); 10AM (Washington)
1 hour (5 mins logging in and introductions, 30-40 mins talk, 15 mins discussions)

Upcoming Online Meetings

Title Date of Meeting
Database & Research Working Group Monday, August 15, 2022
Informatics/ Biorepository Tuesday, August 16, 2022
ELSI & Patients Group Monday, August 22, 2022
EXCo Tuesday, August 23, 2022
Steering Committee Monday, September 5, 2022

Upcoming Workshops/Face to Face Meetings

Title Opening / Closing date
SCDO Meeting Monday, October 3, 2022 - 00:00 to Thursday, October 6, 2022 - 00:00

Upcoming Fellowships

Title Deadline
Call for Applications: SickleInAfrica Research Fellowships Friday, July 22, 2022 - 00:00

Upcoming External Opportunities

Title Application Deadline Submitted On
Global Gene Therapy Initiative (GGTI) Thursday, August 18, 2022 - 17:00 Thu, 08/11/2022 - 19:14
Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences (MUHAS) - Lecturer Monday, August 22, 2022 - 16:00 Thu, 08/11/2022 - 15:19
Call for Systematic Reviews from the United Nations Thursday, September 1, 2022 - 17:00 Thu, 08/11/2022 - 15:15
AREF Research Development Fellowships for 2022/23 Thursday, September 22, 2022 - 13:0022 September 2022, 13:00 GMT Fri, 08/05/2022 - 09:18
Primer in Systematic Reviews Course Tuesday, August 16, 2022 - 12:00 Wed, 08/03/2022 - 18:10

External Presentations/Invited Talks

Title Date & Time
Sickle Cell Disease Coalition (SCDC) Wednesday, March 6, 2019 - 16:00